Old Love

I was waiting at the train station this morning, mostly minding my own business, and I say mostly because I have the tendency to observe other people and eavesdrop on conversations…not like I can help it sometimes; some people talk really loudly. Anyway, I  saw two old ladies sitting on the bench quietly talking to each other when an old man sidled up to them and said, “Helloooo ladies!” in that tone. Then he sat down reeeeaallly close next to one of the ladies, crosses his leg and leans in even closer. Creepy. I mean, it would be creepy if they were in their mid-twenties, but this was 10% creepier, 50% weirder, and 100% more awkward.

There’s something about the thought of people still trying to look for “the one” in their late 60’s or 70’s that strikes me as pathetic, in the most piteous sense of the word. I mean, sure, props to them for being true romantics, but I feel like there needs to be some different way for the older generation to hook up with each other without it being so completely awkward. Online dating sites help a little, although it usually ends up with really old men looking for women 20 years younger than they are.

I guess it’s really naïve to wish that everyone would find someone to grow old and die with, which makes old love all the more rare and precious to see. It’s why so many single old people are grumpy and cranky – they’re lonely. I think one of the hardest things to do in life is to grow old, but if you do it right, it might just be the most beautiful and hopeful thing for young people to see.

Blah blah blah

