Cateye

When I was a kid, I remember my first two-wheeled bike (sans training wheels) was neon yellow and black with no gears. Well, it was a hand-me-down from my brother, so it wasn’t like I had a choice. But the cool thing was that it came with a bike speedometer and a Cateye headlight, which my brother never bothered to transfer to his own bike until I outgrew that bike.

Over a decade later, and Cateye is still around making bike lights, some powerful enough to rival a car’s headlights. And I found myself buying a Cateye bike light again, since it came highly recommended by the local bike shop.

The first one I bought was a really old model that I can’t even find on Amazon or on the original Cateye website, which utilises a single light bulb to light your way. I was in a rush to get any bike headlight, so I didn’t really stop to think about it. Anyway, it was really bulky; although it had a very secure mount it was still heavy, especially with the two C batteries inside. I’m pretty glad I got to return it, batteries and all.

As a replacement, I got the Cateye HL-EL220N bicycle headlight on sale, which ended up being cheaper than the really old model. Hm. Anyway, unlike the other, it utilises 5 LED lights, which I like a lot because the light is white and bright, and LED lights are more efficient than light bulbs, so it would last about 20 hours longer. And instead of having to use C batteries, I only need 4 AA batteries, which are much more easily found in stores. There’s also a blinking mode in this light, and mounting it onto my bike didn’t require any tools whatsoever, unlike the big headlight which had to be screwed in. It may have been more secure, but it would be a hassle to transfer it to a different bike when the need arises. This HL-EL220N would be easier to move, although I’ve heard from people that the plastic strap used to wrap around the handlebar can break or get stuck. I guess only time will tell.

Well, now that I’m all set for night riding, I think I may take my bike for a spin tomorrow night, before the weather gets too cold to do so. 

2 thoughts on “Cateye

  1. I was pretty pleased to find this web-site. I wanted to thanks to your time for this amazing read!! I definitely enjoying every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to see new stuff you article.

Blah blah blah

