Maggiano’s Little Italy

Went to Westfield Old Orchard today. Humongous shopping mall, but I didn’t go to shop (thank goodness). My friend invited me to have dinner with her at Maggiano’s Little Italy, an American-Italian style restaurant chain.

Usually I’m not so enthusiastic about Italian food, not because I don’t like it, but because I can cook a pretty good pasta dish myself since it’s so easy. But Maggiano’s has pretty good deals for their food, especially their classic pasta dishes – you buy one for $12.95, and they let you choose another one to take home for free! So basically, you get two meals for $12.95 (excluding tax and tip). Or four meals, if you’re like me and don’t eat that much. Italian food can be pretty heavy, and having so much pasta is really filling.

I tried their Chicken Parmesan today, so not one of the classic dishes, but apparently it’s a ‘Chef Favourite’. I give it a 5/10, because it was too salty and the chicken was a little dry. Plus it didn’t look very interesting; just 2 pieces of chicken with red sauce slopped on with pasta on the side. Quite a let down, really – I should have gotten one of the classic pastas, which was what I had last time I went, and wasn’t as salty. I guess for Maggiano’s, it’s quantity over quality. Heh. At least you get a lot of food for your money.

All you chefs out there, please, please, please go easier on the salt. I’ve noticed a trend recently: that all my favourite restaurants have gradually become saltier and saltier until the whole dish is ruined. And I know it’s salty when I end up downing over 3 cups of water during the meal.

Blah blah blah

