Allergy

Yesterday morning, my allergies were acting up. I have no idea what I’m allergic to; probably some pollen in the air since I had a runny nose and watery eyes. It’s usually more annoying than painful. Yesterday night at the Ravinia, I was trying not to disturb the concert with my constant sniffing and nose-blowing. But by this morning, my runny nose was gone.

For reference (both my own and yours), this is what I did: I quickly drank a cup of Emergen-C, a vitamin C drink. I prefer the “Super Orange” flavour; all the others taste too medicinal. They are available in boxes of 30 packets at any Trader Joe’s for $7.99, or Bed Bath and Beyond for $8.99 (with a 20% off coupon it would be cheaper than Trader Joe’s by 80 cents). I highly recommend this for colds too.

Anyway. Next I drank a cup of natural orange juice. I also rubbed Mentholatum under my nose, then proceeded to perform acupressure on myself, which is like acupuncture only instead of sticking needles into your body you apply pressure instead, as the word suggests. This is the website I used, which was very helpful if you don’t want to waste a ton of money on drugs. The one where you put pressure on the area between your thumb and index finger I found was particularly effective.

I drank a packet of Emergen-C every 4 hours, and took a nap which helped too. I don’t think I’ve ever gotten over my allergies this quickly before! Gotta love my vitamin C. I think I might try the honey remedy someday, if I can somehow locate a place that sells honey made from local bees.

Blah blah blah

