Berry Blast

As the temperature climbed to almost 100 degrees (about 35 degrees C, and about 30 degrees too high) today, I couldn’t help but wonder whether it was this sort of weather that provoked the berries’ sudden outburst. Every grocery store is filled with blackberries, blueberries, strawberries at low prices, each berry loaded with sweet, delicious goodness that couldn’t be found last year. I think I’ve scarfed down at least 4 pounds worth of the stuff, and I still want more!!

It’s either the weather, or farmers are starting to water their berries with sugared water. I’m serious; that’s what they taste like – as if they’ve been enhanced with sugar, the way my grandma likes to do with her berries. If I could, I would have sent her 10 pounds of each kind of berry so she can turn it into jam. Mmmmmmm….

I’ve also been drinking smoothies like crazy and experimenting with different combinations, like banana-blueberry-apple, strawberry-banana-blueberry, blackberry-strawberry-blueberry-banana etc etc. But in all honesty, they all taste about the same. HA. Or maybe I’m just drinking too fast to notice.

Note to self: if ice is added use yoghurt. If not, use milk.

On another note, my friend told me that eating too many strawberries can cause diarrhea. So far, my stomach has disproved his tidbit of information. Let’s hope it stays that way.

Blah blah blah

