Although I’m a little picky

Airplane foodAlthough I’m a little picky when it comes to what foods I eat, I am not as fussy with the quality, just as long as the meal doesn’t taste like garbage.

I actually like airplane food, believe it or not. I like some meals more than others depending on the airline I’m taking, but in general, despite the numerous complaints against such food, I don’t mind it at all. It’s better than starving, and meals have certainly improved in quality over the years. I guess people’s palettes are becoming more and more refined. The rolls are especially unique – they’re round and soft, better than some breads I’ve had at restaurants! The desserts are getting better as well, ranging from Häagen-Dazs ice cream to simple fruit to New York cheesecake.

Naturally, I’m talking about long-distance flights; usually at least 4 hours long (why do I have to live so far away from everyone?). Even the snacks are pretty good; they don’t offer bland peanuts anymore due to the increase of people with nut allergies. Instead there are pretzels, or crackers, or a mixture. Mmm. On international flights (long-haul) to Hong Kong or Japan, they even have “midnight snacks” like cup noodles or sandwiches that you can request from the air hostess as many times as you like, though I’ve never tried asking for seconds. Something about being in a plane doesn’t kindle one’s appetite at all…which is a big relief for those who get airsick.

I usually pick the fish or chicken option, or whichever one has potatoes as the ‘carb food’ because rice or noodles tend to be undercooked or a little dry. But then I’m talking about United Airlines and maybe Cathay, so I guess they have chefs who are more used to making Western food. I hear that the vegetarian option is sometimes even better than the omnivorous option, but I have yet to test this theory. Maybe I’ll try next time.

Blah blah blah

