Let it snow

SnowLet it snow, let it snow, let it snow! (I wonder what ‘it’ is) Ah, yes – it’s that time of the year again! I have no shame in admitting that I love snow, while others grumble about how it dirties the sidewalks, pile on top of their cars, etc. But I am a skier, so I guess that explains a lot.

I think I like powdery snow for skiing, but sturdy snow for making snow sculptures. Last year, I made a snowchild when the snow was icy, so that wasn’t so helpful. But I still thought the end result was pretty cool (no pun intended), because I used dried prunes for its eyes, an apricot nose, twig arms and even this hat made from frozen icicles that I picked up from the ground! It was pretty cute, but it melted by the next morning. Ah well.

My first encounter with snow was a long time ago, in Vancouver. I was visiting my cousins, and they dragged me outside to the cold, but I found that I didn’t mind because the snow was just amazing to play with. What I did mind, though, was how my brother didn’t let me help make their huge snowman. Hm. Maybe that’s why I have the urge to make snowmen whenever I see snow.

I’m ready to break out the skies the moment there’s 4 inches of snow. I think I prefer downhill skiing, but seeing as Illinois seems to be the flattest state in the US, there’s no hope for that unless I make an artificial mountain and build a ski lift. But cross-country’s not too bad either; it just gets annoying because I know that I could probably walk faster than I can ski. Ah well. Enjoy it while it lasts!

Blah blah blah

